Haruko/Love Poem by June Jordan

“The Butterfly Warrior” from http://www.androxa.wordpress.com

“Why I became a pacifist

and then

How I became a warrior again:

Because nothing I could do or say 

turned out okay.

I figured I should just sit

still and chill

except to maybe mumble

‘Baby, Baby;

Stop!

AND

Because turning that other cheek

           holding my tongue

          refusing to retaliate when the deal

          got ugly:

And because not throwing whoever calls me bitch

           out the goddamn window

And because swallowing my pride

           saying I’m sorry when whoever don’t like 

          one single thing

          about me and don’t never take a break from 

          counting up the 65,899 ways I talk wrong

         I act wrong

And because sitting on my fist

          neglecting to enumerate every incoherent 

         rigid/raggedy-ass/disrespectful/killer cold

        committed by some loudmouth don’t know

         nothing about it takes 2 to fuck and 

         it takes 2 to fuck things up

And because making apologies that nobody give a shit

        about

and because failing to sing my song

finally

finally

           got on my absolute last nerve!

I picked up my sword

I lift up my sheild

And I stay ready for war

Because now I live ready for a whole lot more…..

than that.”

~June Jordan~

Poet, Essayist, Political Activist, Scholar and #InspriationalButterfly 

*From “Haruko/Love Poems”, Jordan, June. HighRisk Publishing, New York, NY. 1994

Leave a Reply

